Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Boost Libraries

Posted by musicinstinct 
Boost Libraries
May 13, 2009 11:21AM
Has anyone managed to use the Boost libraries with devkitPPC? [www.boost.org]

I would have thought at least the "header only" parts should just work straight out of the box, but I get lots of errors like this:

error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '__attribute__' before 'boost'

That error is repeated many times over, when attempting to compile even the simplest of example progs using one of the header only parts of the library. Eg, this simple example:

#include 
#include 
#include 
#include 

int main()
{
    using namespace boost::lambda;
    typedef std::istream_iterator in;

std::for_each(
        in(std::cin), in(), std::cout << (_1 * 3) << " " );
}
Re: Boost Libraries
May 14, 2009 09:47PM
What's the rest of the output when you try to compile that example? And what's the exact command that runs to create that output.

I have limited experience with this as I was working on an aleph one port for the psp which used the boost library (headers only) I got it to compile fine but someone else was working on their version simultaneously and released his first lol.
May 15, 2009 09:24AM
I know i accidentally included boost in .C files. I was absolutely clueless what the error messages meant.
Not everything may work but i do know shared_ptr works and i assume many other libs work.
May 16, 2009 12:55PM
In this file (part of Boost):

boost/config/no_tr1/utility.hpp

There is this include:

#ifndef BOOST_CONFIG_UTILITY
#  define BOOST_CONFIG_UTILITY

#  ifndef BOOST_TR1_NO_RECURSION
#     define BOOST_TR1_NO_RECURSION
#     define BOOST_CONFIG_NO_UTILITY_RECURSION
#  endif

#  include <utility>

#  ifdef BOOST_CONFIG_NO_UTILITY_RECURSION
#     undef BOOST_TR1_NO_RECURSION
#     undef BOOST_CONFIG_NO_UTILITY_RECURSION
#  endif

#endif

Which causes this error: