Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Fine Collision Detection *SOLVED*

Posted by LordAshes 
Fine Collision Detection *SOLVED*
February 15, 2010 04:58AM
I am new to GRRLIB.

I have seen some code that uses GRRLIB_RectOnRect to detect collision. This is fine for some applications but not good enough when you need your collision to be accurate. For example, consider to circles. The bounding square (assuming there is not wasted space) would mean that an object coming directly at a 45 degree angle towards the circle would trigger a collision about 20% earlier (based on the circle's size). Thus two circles coming together at 45 degrees would trigger a collision approx 40% earlier (based on circle size).

Is there an easy GRRLIB function that does a fine collision check based on two objects taking into account the alpha transparency of the object (i.e. does not trigger collisions on parts of the object that are transparent)?

If there is such a function, you probably don't need to explain it too much, all I need is to be pointed in the right direction and then I can do the detailed research myself.

If there is not such function, has anyone seen some good code which implements these types of checks?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/15/2010 11:55AM by LordAshes.
Re: Fine Collision Detection
February 15, 2010 09:19AM
There is pixel collision detection where you use a B/W mask of the sprite to check per pixel for a collision, you would want to do a rect collision before hand an ensure that passed before doing a cpu heavy pixel on pixel test.

If you are dealing with circles a method would be to check distance from the center point + the radius and see if it overlaps with another object.

I have a bunch of good links I try and dig up tomorrow. But this should at least give you something to google for now.
February 15, 2010 11:14AM