Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

preproccessor question

Posted by g_man 
preproccessor question
November 04, 2010 05:52AM
I'm new to using the preproccessor, and I have a problem. I am trying to take an argument and convert it to a string and get it's value, but it doesn't work. That was probably confusing so here is my code:
#define SENDVARIABLES(x,arg1,arg2,arg3,arg4,arg5,arg6)	\
do{	\
if(arg1!=NOTAVAR)	\
	addVariableDouble(x*6,arg1,(char*)"Player 2 arg1 x");\
if(arg2!=NOTAVAR)		\
	addVariableDouble(x*6+1,arg2,(char*)"Player 2 arg2 x");	\
if(arg3!=NOTAVAR)		\
	addVariableDouble(x*6+2,arg3,(char*)"Player 2 arg3 x");	\
if(arg4!=NOTAVAR)		\
	addVariableDouble(x*6+3,arg4,(char*)"Player 2 arg4 x");	\
if(arg5!=NOTAVAR)		\
	addVariableDouble(x*6+4,arg5,(char*)"Player 2 arg5 x");		\
if(arg6!=NOTAVAR)		\
	addVariableDouble(x*6+5,arg6,(char*)"Player 2 arg6 x");\
} while(0)
I am trying to get the value of x , and arg1-6 in the first two arguments of addVariableDouble, and in the last one I want the to be strings. When I run it now the first two arguments are fine, but the string turns out as "Player 2 arg1 x"
Thanks
Re: preproccessor question
November 04, 2010 10:01AM
You are looking for Stringification: [gcc.gnu.org]

#define STRINGIFY(x) #x
#define SENDVARIABLES(x,arg1,arg2,arg3,arg4,arg5,arg6)	\
do{	\
if(arg1!=NOTAVAR)	\
	addVariableDouble(x*6,arg1,(char*)"Player 2 " STRINGIFY(arg1) " " STRINGIFY(x));\
November 04, 2010 02:31PM
Thanks, that was the problem. But I have another question. Righ now if I don't have a total of six variables then I set the variables with that I don't want to use with a constant. So NOTAVAR is a number, which I set as 1111111111. There has to be a better way to detected if a value is a variable or not. Is there?
November 04, 2010 04:34PM
Well, looking at the limited amount of code you have posted. I think you might be looking for "var args": [en.wikipedia.org]