Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Recommended graphic library?

Posted by AmitR 
Recommended graphic library?
June 22, 2009 12:49AM
Hi everyone,
I've just started programming to the Wii, and I see that there are a number of graphical libraries which can be used. Can you please recommend me which library works best? And if possible, please link me to that library's documentation or code examples.
Thanks!
Re: Recommended graphic library?
June 22, 2009 01:15AM
I think it depends on what specifically you need.
Simplest would be libwiisprite, and then you have libwiigui for gui components, and grrlib has some powerful functions (see the demo)
A search on the wiki will get you the info on each library.
June 22, 2009 01:21AM
i just started programming myself (got a simple little helicopter game going) and i've found grrlib and libwiisprite to be very simple and sufficient for the kinda stuff i'm doing.

Plus there are lots of examples and tutorials on grrlib which make it a nice way to start learning.
June 22, 2009 01:52AM
If youre a begining C++ developer, use libwiisprite.

If youre an advanced C++ developer, use libwiigui.

If youre a C developer, use GRRLIB.

All three librarys have extensive documentation and examples.
June 22, 2009 02:13AM
I wouldn't say that libwiigui is for advanced developers. If i had to rank the c++ libraries, I would say that libwiisprite is for the advanced people. But I would rather not rank them against each other, they are not designed to do the same job, and as such, it's not going to make much sense to compare them with each other.
June 22, 2009 04:11AM
yeah i agree... even as a newb i found libwiisprite and GRRLIB to both be easy and user friendly... so long as you read up on the tutorials and all the great examples and posts found here.
June 22, 2009 02:29PM
henke37