Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Can't get SDL for Wii to fly... :-(

Posted by petrander 
Can't get SDL for Wii to fly... :-(
July 21, 2009 11:45PM
Hi all,

I recently discovered Wii Homebrew, set up the Homebrew channel with some sample apps, and I am excited to get started developing my own stuff. I am new to C++, but thanks to the WiiWizard for Visual Studio I had a good start and already got the "Hello World!" to show up on my Wii.

Next I wanted to try some graphics and was interested in using SDL. So I downloaded SDL for Wii, and put all the proper files in the right folders according to instructions. I changed the following line in the makefile:

LIBS	:=	-lSDL_net -lSDL_ttf -lSDL_gfx -lSDL_mixer -lSDL_image -lSDL \
            -lsmpeg -ljpeg -lpng -lfreetype -ltremor \
            -lz -lfat -lwiiuse -lbte -logc -lm -lwiikeyboard \
, but whenever I build now, I keep on getting errors. It is as if the required libraries are missing from my DevkitPro / libOCG installation.

First I get a "c:/devkitpro/devkitppc/bin/../lib/gcc/powerpc-gekko/4.2.4/../../../../powerpc-gekko/bin/ld.exe: cannot find... " for all the libs referenced to in the second line (-lsmpeg -ljpeg -lpng -lfreetype -ltremor). Since I for my first project do not need to work with media files, fonts or whatever, I left out the second line completely. But then it trips over the 'lwiikeyboard' that it cannot find. Deleting also that one, gives me a range of different error messages:

C:\Users\Daryl\Desktop\Projects\sdl-wii\SDL/src/main/wii/SDL_wii_main.c:68: undefined reference to `MOUSE_Init'
C:\Users\Daryl\Desktop\Projects\sdl-wii\SDL/src/main/wii/SDL_wii_main.c:69: undefined reference to `KEYBOARD_Init'
c:/devkitPro/libogc/lib/wii\libSDL.a(SDL_wiievents.o): In function `PumpEvents':
C:\Users\Daryl\Desktop\Projects\sdl-wii\SDL/src/video/wii/SDL_wiievents.c:64: undefined reference to `KEYBOARD_GetEvent'