Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Guitar Hero Controller

Posted by icefire 
Guitar Hero Controller
December 03, 2008 01:42AM
Here is my code:

if( (buttonsHeld & WPAD_BUTTON_PLUS) || (buttonsHeld & WPAD_CLASSIC_BUTTON_PLUS) || (buttonsHeld & WPAD_GUITAR_HERO_3_BUTTON_PLUS) )
{
        printf("%d\n", ++i); 
	WPAD_Rumble(WPAD_CHAN_0, 1);
}

As is obvious, buttonsHeld is the return value of WPAD_ButtonsHeld(0);

It works with the Wiimote (I don't have a classic controller to test), but not with the Guitar...any idea why?
Re: Guitar Hero Controller
December 03, 2008 06:02AM
Ur doin it rong.
Go look at wpad.h, it should help you out a bit TD
December 03, 2008 08:03AM
Could you explain? I'm new to C and Wii programming so i could use some newbie level help :)..

I could not understand what it means by (0x001<<16) in wpad.h

thanks,
icefire
December 03, 2008 10:44AM
your code seems fine to me

problem is, with expansion controllers, you generally need to plug it only once your application has started (or once the HBC has started, not sure) to make it detected, this is a known "bug"

unplug/plug the controller generaly fix it
December 05, 2008 05:08PM
Your code looks fine to me as well.

icefire
I could not understand what it means by (0x001<<16) in wpad.h

a << b means take the bit representation of 'a' and shift that bit pattern to the left 'b' times. For example, 1 << 1 = 2, the bit pattern for 1 is '0001', and shifting that to the left 1 times gives you, '0010', which is a decimal 2.

Mathematically, a << b, is equivalent to a*2^b, or in other words, 1 left shit multiplies 'a' by 2, 2 left shifts multiplies by 4, etc.

The question you might have is why does wpad.h use this notation, when they could have just written in a single decimal number in place of the a<<b notation? The reason is a<<b is a very expressive and convenient notation, when you're working with numbers one bit at a time.