Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Clipping my screen area?

Posted by AberrantWolf 
Clipping my screen area?
September 11, 2011 05:02AM
Hey, I just started programming for Wii, er, today. So far it's going fairly well, I have a triangle in 3D space, I can move around it, and I can draw a triangle where the wiimote is pointing on screen.

I'm seeing some black bars on the left and right sides of my screen, however, that I don't see when in the Wii menu or the Homebrew Channel. I see these black bars even on the example programs provided with devkitpro.

Is there some known aspect ratio or clipping bounds issue going on with the example programs?

I can probably post photos if you really don't believe me. :P

EDIT: Oh! And I'm running widescreen, North America, HDTV (720p max).

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/11/2011 05:05AM by AberrantWolf.
Re: Clipping my screen area?
September 12, 2011 06:11AM
I was looking into this recently but sorta gave up. Some applications adjust their x-scale when the wii is set to widescreen mode (The Homebrew Channel, FZero GX, COD:WAW). I haven't seen any homebrew applications that do this trick and I don't know how it is done.
September 12, 2011 08:01AM
The simple trick that the wii menu and HBC use is to have no (or very small) borders and a background image that doesn't have any important info near the edges. The amount of overscan (the bits at the edges of the screen that get hidden) that a TV has can vary greatly but as long as you keep important info away from the edges (so it never gets cut off) and fill it up with your background, it should look fine.
September 12, 2011 05:04PM
From what I see in the snesGX source it maybe that they draw everything to a widescreen texture then squish the texture so that it fits into the 640x480 screen. There resulting in the Anamorphic Widescreen effect.
September 12, 2011 10:14PM