Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Making a Head-to-Head Online Game

Posted by Arikado 
Making a Head-to-Head Online Game
January 07, 2009 12:36AM
I just recieved a wireless router today (for my birthday, incase anyone cares). I'm enjoying playing brawl and mario kart online. Then it occured to me. We dont have any homebrew head-to-head or player vs player games. Not one to complain I quickly wrote up (in less than an hour to be exact) an extremely simple game I'm tentatively calling BattlePong.

An HBC compatible version of it can be downloaded here.

The source can be downloaded here.

As you'll see from using it, I'd like to incorporate a two player online mode into the game. My question isn't how, but instead, is it possible? Are we far enough with the network functions in libogc that this can actually be acieved? If so, can anyone give me any pointers about network programming (I've never done any before)? Furthermore, is anyone willing to help me achieve my goal?

Thanks in advance to any and all repliers,
Arikado

BTW I'm uploading the source code and publicly releasing the link tomorrow after I clean up the code a little bit. I'd also appreciate it if everyone does not post BattlePong on Wiibrew or anywhere else on the internet for that matter.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/08/2009 06:51PM by Arikado.
Re: Making a Head-to-Head Online Game
January 07, 2009 12:39AM
Heh, sounds good. I'd like to see this idea as well. I forgot who it was, but somebody gave out a little demo application on #wiidev that a bunch of people connected to his computer, and you were Mario, and you could run around and jump, while you saw everyone else doing whatever they were doing, except they were Luigi.

You might try asking around on there to see who wrote it, and ask them for some help.
Definitely seems possible though, especially for a game as simple as Pong.
January 07, 2009 12:45AM