Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why isn't net_gethostip() in network.h?

Posted by iofthestorm 
Why isn't net_gethostip() in network.h?
January 12, 2009 07:17AM
Hi,
So I'm working on a network using program, intending to make an RSS reader, and I was reading some tutorials and looking at example code from other apps. I looked at ftpii's source, and I notice that he used the function net_gethostip() to get the ip address of the Wii. Then I looked in network.h and it wasn't there, which confused me. Finally I searched on Google Code search and found that it was actually in libogc in wii_network.c or something, but not in the network.h header, and that ftpii was using it by doing

extern u32 net_gethostip();

I know that extern is used to specify that the mentioned object is in another file, but why isn't that just in network.h? I'm new to C so forgive me if this question is something obvious.
Re: Why isn't net_gethostip() in network.h?
January 12, 2009 07:26AM
Blame bushing. He made a mistake. It's nothing more than that.
January 12, 2009 07:26AM
No clue. If that works, go ahead and tell bushing or somebody about it, so they can add it to the GIT or CVS or whatever.
January 12, 2009 07:33AM
Oh, ok. I was wondering what other fun hidden functions are in libogc, and was going to go read through the source. Actually, that might be a fun side project. It works fine, ftpii has been using it for a while I think and it worked in my program too. I'll pop into #wiidev and let him know I guess.
January 12, 2009 11:26AM
Hi,

or you just could use if_config, which does the complete network init stuff for you and passes back the ip to you.

I added if_configex where you pass in a "struct in_addr". This is usefull if you need to use the hosts ip for binding a socket.
And yes, both functions, stuff the information into it. At the moment there's no way to manually configure your ip address.