Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Coding

Posted by technoman 
Coding
February 21, 2011 10:43PM
I was interested in coding and was wondering, what exactly do you need to create apps and do you need to have a background in programming? I have no background in programming and if you need one this will not become a enjoyable hobby for me.
Re: Coding
February 21, 2011 11:00PM
Learn C or C++, then you should be able to grasp it by looking at the examples in devkitPro and looking at other open source homebrew projects.
February 21, 2011 11:02PM
I'm 13 so that's probably not going to happen. Thanks anyway though!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/21/2011 11:02PM by technoman.
February 21, 2011 11:13PM
Plenty of people start at your age or earlier: The earlier you start, the better. I tried to start back then, but I never really bothered.
February 22, 2011 03:33PM
tpw_rules is 13 and probably better than myself and most other people in some areas. This kid writes Z80 assembly, Python, linux scripts, and C/C++ like nobody else can.

I became a moderator here when I was 15 and started programming when I was 7.

SquidMan/trap15 and Icefire who are the same age as me both specialized in areas of programming and reverse engineering years ago that I'm just barely beginning to scratch the surface of now.

Comex who needs no introduction is also the same age as me.

tl;dr You're actually late if you start programming today. But better late than never. The longer you wait the worse off you'll be if you ever decide you want to get into programming.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/22/2011 03:34PM by Arikado.
February 24, 2011 06:45PM
Ok. Whats a good book to start with? Also if this involves a lot of math I'm-a gonna hate this cuz me and math are like oil and water.
February 24, 2011 07:42PM
Yeah, programming has a lot of maths in it from my experiences (which are limited).
February 24, 2011 08:39PM