Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Nintendo & Shop Channel

Posted by DevilRy 
Nintendo & Shop Channel
May 27, 2009 11:41PM
I couldn't really think of any place else to put this thread, but here goes...

Every time I get frustrated with Nintendo it invariably involves region protection. With the newish shop channel updates, using Any Region Changer to go to a different shop channel country to actually *PURCHASE* let's say a recently released, muscle-bound & ridiculous Japanese Wii Ware/arcade title (which will probably never be released anywhere else) "resets" your current shop channel data? Even your tickets???? That is just out-right malicious and stupid. How in the hell does that make any sense?

It seems to me that this sort of thing ENCOURAGES piracy as opposed to curbing it. I mean, maybe I don't understand fully as I'm pretty new to homebrew and computer programming in general, but it seems like in order to download and play a single Japanese/European WiiWare/VC title legitimately, you have to backup and restore, *illegitimately* mind you, every other piece of currently downloaded software in your region, IF you want to keep it that is.

What the fuck kind of sense does that make, Nintendo?

Please feel free to correct me if I've misunderstood anything about the current shop channel updates and/or the functions of Any Region Changer, though. Honestly, I'm hoping that I'm wrong. :P

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/27/2009 11:42PM by DevilRy.
Re: Nintendo & Shop Channel
May 28, 2009 12:25AM
As far as i know, you're right. i feel the exact same way. nintendo can be serious retards. i've been asking and looking around for a while now to figure out how to back up my own VC/WW games and reinstall them after i delete my shop account and change my region to japanese. then i could get SSB1!!! xD

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/28/2009 12:26AM by WaxyPumpkin72.
May 28, 2009 02:14AM