This place sure brings back memories.
May 29, 2013 05:51AM
Okay, so I used to post here several years ago; just over 4 years ago actually. I've grown up a lot in those 4 years, I can assure you. I honestly can't believe the way I acted, talked, typed, whatever, back then. I read through the old announcements, and was absolutely wowed by the fact that Arikado has been gone for over 18 months; I remember talking to him about the classes he was taking as a senior in high school.

I remember when DrLucky, ninjafish1991, and I would have all kinds of inane discussions on the offtopic section.....

But that's not the only reason I'm here posting about forum nostalgia.

When I was an active member, I had little to no knowledge of OOP, having only done any amount of work in BASIC, and having only taught myself this due to being bored in the latter half of junior high. I am a student in the Programming and Web Development shop at my local trade school, and we have a focus on Ruby on Rails for web servers, and C# as the main OOP language.

I'm currently working on a top-down RPG with three others that is similar to the old Legend of Zelda games, particularly Four Swords Adventures, but with the implementation of semi-random dungeons, an inventory system, weapon classes, sprite customizations, and more. We expect to have a working build with combat, travel from the hub to the dungeon and back, character loading/saving, and at least basic inventory management by the end of June. If anyone expresses interest in it, I'll make it publicly available. My personal role in the development is that of the animations, the sprites, and the weapon handlers.

To have thought that I would be this far along in such a comparatively short amount of time is just mind-boggling to me, even today.