Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wii VPN Hack for multiplayer?

Posted by immortalsoule 
Wii VPN Hack for multiplayer?
November 03, 2009 03:48AM
I was kinda wondering if anyone's considered a VPN connection for the Wii? If successful, it could work the same way that it works for Windows, tricking the Wii into thinking both players are locally connected and fixing the multilayer problem for...well...every Wii game in creation.

I'm somewhat new to Wii modding but an old hand at operating systems and computers in general. However, i'm not a coder so i could only come up with a detailed idea of how to put it into play.

Anyone?
Re: Wii VPN Hack for multiplayer?
November 03, 2009 08:23PM
Um, the Wii doesn't have an option for local networked play, so this wouldn't work. The one way for multiplayer is A) online or B)on one console.
November 04, 2009 03:26AM
You might be able to VPN through a router with out internet connected to make it simulate the internet...
November 04, 2009 06:26PM
ninjafish1990
You might be able to VPN through a router with out internet connected to make it simulate the internet...

I think thats the opposite of what the original poster had in mind, but it could probably work.
November 05, 2009 04:39PM
That's the opposite of what they did for the Xbox back in the day, but it had the same principle. There, they simulated a LAN connection when connecting with someone over the internet, so you could play online without Xbox Live.

Nonetosay, I'm very interested in this.
November 05, 2009 07:58PM
loony636
That's the opposite of what they did for the Xbox back in the day, but it had the same principle. There, they simulated a LAN connection when connecting with someone over the internet, so you could play online without Xbox Live.

Nonetosay, I'm very interested in this.

I think that is what the OP wanted, but as I pointed out above, the Wii does not have LAN capabilities.
November 09, 2009 07:45AM