Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How do I know if I have / how can I get rid of cIOSs?

Posted by BeatBionic 
How do I know if I have / how can I get rid of cIOSs?
August 16, 2010 09:09PM
I'm pretty new to the Homebrew scene, and I apologize if my first post here is breaking the new rules, but I was hoping someone here could guide me to some definitive answers about this cIOS stuff that has become taboo.

Given the decision to stop supporting cIOSs, I want to make sure that I'm not using any and if for some reason I am, remove them for plain vanilla IOSs. Can someone here guide me (and perhaps others) to determining whether or not I have any installed / how to get rid of them?

I don't think I installed any, but I'm new so I really don't know if I did or not. Any help is much appreciated.

UNRELATED: Thanks for all the work you do with the wiki and everything! You guys have a wealth of good information here.
Re: How do I know if I have / how can I get rid of cIOSs?
August 17, 2010 12:35AM
Run the Hackmii Installer and then look at the log file it creates on your SD card. The log will list all IOSes installed on your wii. If an IOS is patched, it will have an asterisk (*) after it. Otherwise, there will be a period (.). For IOS patched IOS versions 80 and lower, use NUS Downloader to download the same revision of the IOS you already have and install it with a WAD installer (the IOS revision you install doesn't really matter; the oldest revisions of IOS 36 and lower have the trucha bug, which will be useful until NAND modifying applications are updated to not require this, but these IOSes will not work on "LU64+" wiis). Delete any patched IOSes over 200 with AnyTitle Deleter. Do not delete lower numbered IOSes.
August 17, 2010 02:02PM
Thanks for the response, jbc007! That's good to know. I'm going to check that out later on tonight if I can.
August 17, 2010 05:17PM