Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help! Have I bricked my Wii???

Posted by leeant992004 
Help! Have I bricked my Wii???
November 24, 2009 02:29PM
Help!! Help!!!

I am new to all this stuff on here and mabe rushed a little to fast. I Have installed the homebrew software on my wii (no modchip), I followed instuctions that came with the files I tranfered to the SD card. (wii4.0 softmod)

Homebrew channel is installed and i have seen it working but I am now faced with the preloader menu when i start up, but when I go to system menu, I get a broken up message saying my sytem files are corrupt.

Details are:

Preloader Version 0.29
ISO 50
System menu V386

Please help, I dont know what to do from here to get things working again.

Lee

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/24/2009 03:10PM by leeant992004.
Re: Help! Have I bricked my Wii???
November 24, 2009 07:18PM
I'm not 100% on this but I think you need to have preloader boot the System Menu with IOS 60.

Also, those "softmod packs" are generally illegal and may not be the best way to go when homebrewing your Wii because you just install these things that they tell you without actually knowing what you're doing.
November 24, 2009 09:30PM
He's on 3.4, IOS50 is the right IOS. However, it needs to be ES_Identify patched. I cannot think of a tool which can ES_Identify patch IOS50 off the top of my head though....Maybe FreeTheBugs? (its a pc app which patches an IOS WAD you can get with NUSD).

Alternatively, you could just update preloader 0.29 to priiloader (which is an unofficial mod with extra features) and you need not worry about patching any IOS, as it can boot System Menu without a patched IOS.

I'd go with the later option. Download the priiloader installer and boot HBC from preloader, then run the priiloader installer.
November 24, 2009 09:43PM
Well he said "(wii4.0 softmod)"
so I assumed...
November 24, 2009 09:59PM