Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Preloader v0.29 showing, but no Systemmenu

Posted by BLKro 
Preloader v0.29 showing, but no Systemmenu
February 15, 2010 10:39PM
I am new to the software part of the Wii, been only playing and reading about homebrew and other stuff. I know a little about the works but am a beginner in actually doing what I read. I have a Wii from a cousin of mine (he's only 12) that when powered on loads Preloader v0.29, does not load Systemmenu (I tried selecting the option and got a "Couldn't find 'hacks.ini' " error). The HomeBrew Channel appears to be loading. He doesn't know how it got this way (or doesn't want to say, you know how kids are).

Tried the SaveMiiFrii but only preloader shows, the Wii does not enter the recovery menu (if that's what it's called). Also the remote does not sync to the Wii, tried several remotes (his and mine). Can only navigate the preloader menu using the GC controller (the SaveMiiFrii one).

I do not know what I should do/read to make it work again, where should one start? Tried searching but have not found a similar problem, maybe because I don't even know what the problem really is...

Thank you in advance,
Alex

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 02/15/2010 10:42PM by BLKro.
Re: Preloader v0.29 showing, but no Systemmenu
February 15, 2010 11:00PM
Most likely, the wii has system menu 4.2 (system menu version 480, 481, 482 or 486, depending on your region. This appears near the bottom of the screen in Preloader), with which Preloader is normally incompatible (there is a way to make it work, but it is impractical). If the wii has system menu 4.2, install Priiloader, which will work normally on 4.2. You can run the Priiloader installer through Preloader.

The same issue would happen if you have system menu 3.4. Again, fix it by installing Priiloader.