Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Installed HBC..now What???

Posted by mario82 
Installed HBC..now What???
January 08, 2010 02:29PM
Hi Guys,

I'm asking very naive question but I’m new to Wii and HBC so I might sound dumb. :(

Thanks to you guys I have installed the HBC successfully on my new Wii (4.2)..but now what?

How can I download and play old Nintendo, Sega games? Which applications do i need to install?

Which application do I need to install to play DVD and music etc?

Do I need to aware of any application which doesn't work on 4.2 and can brick my Wii? I don’t want that I put application on wii and it will damage Wii.

Also while installing the HBC as per the instructions i installed the DVDx and BootMii but i could find them when i launched the HBC for 1st time..Later on I figure out that i need to create the apps folder and copy stuff in to that so i can run particular app. I did that successfully and now i have got browser on HBC which works fine. What's the use of DVDx and BootMii then or they are internal to HBC? Do i need to launch BootMii manually at any time? If so why?

Thank you very much for reading my naive questions? I appreciate all the help you guys provide on this forum.

Cheers!!!
Re: Installed HBC..now What???
January 08, 2010 03:09PM
Only way you can brick your Wii through homebrew is if you try to install WADs or alter the flash memory if you don't know what you're doing.

For the older games, I recommend getting some emulators. Installation is included on their pages. Here's a list of current emulators.

[wiibrew.org]

That's all I use my HBC for, though. For DVDs and stuff, I have a PS2 and an actual DVD player, so I don't really need it.

For the media, best I've heard is GeeXboX [wiibrew.org]

As far as I know, all current homebrew is compatible with 4.2