Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I'm the noobiest of them all!

Posted by Jhoo 
I'm the noobiest of them all!
July 19, 2010 01:02AM
Hi there guys!

Not only I'm new to homebrew but... I'm totally new to Wii as well (gosh!). Recently my wife bought a Wii to play with her parents and after some research, I learned about homebrew and got interested. However, I'm still afraid of installing it and maybe bricking the console, so I'm still researching.

My question is: in my Wii, there is an internet channel that supposedly would allow me to browse the web. When I click it, a popup says that there is a new system update available and that I should install it to be able to browse the net (I presume that the browser doesn't come pre-installed). Since I know that updating to 4.3 will block me from other interesting features, I refused. But now I'm wondering: if I ever install homebrew, would it mean that I won't be able to install the browser from that channel?

Thanks in advance and sorry for the (possibly) stupid question.
Re: I'm the noobiest of them all!
July 19, 2010 03:23AM
I'm assuming that you are referring the use of the Wii Shop Channel to install the Internet Channel.

You can install homebrew on your Wii and still download the Interent Channel. There are homebrew tools that allow you to update your Shop Channel without updating to 4.3. Also, when an updated HackMii Installer is released, you will be able to update to 4.3 and still run homebrew easily.
July 20, 2010 12:02AM
Thank you for the answer.

So far I read another ton of information regarding softmoding the wii, it is way more complicated than I thought.
Anyway, do you know if there is any way to block the Wii System Update using a Firewall ? I'm affraid that my wife can accidentally update the wii and was looking forward a way to prevent that.

BTW, do you know if there is any restrictions on the LU81 unit?

Thanks again!
July 20, 2010 04:36AM
Jhoo
Thank you for the answer.