Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How do I watch movies on my Wii from external HD

Posted by jcj57 
How do I watch movies on my Wii from external HD
June 30, 2009 03:10AM
I'm a newbie, I know that you can watch movies on a playstation and an xbox from an external HD. I've read you need to download some programs to an SD card then you can do the same thing with your Wii, at present I am using my laptop as media player... very messy....
So can someone please explain in basic english what programs I need to download and in what order to put them on the SD card etc. Your replies will be very much appreciated.

Thanks.
Re: How do I watch movies on my Wii from external HD
June 30, 2009 03:21AM
I believe you can run movies/media from and external hard drive using MPlayerCE and DVDX.

To install DVDX on your wii, just run the hackmii installer using your preferred method (Twilight Hack, bannerbomb), and select the install DVDX option. After that is done, go to this link and download MPlayerCE V0.62.rar to your desktop. When its finished downloading, unzip the file, and open the MPlayer CE folder that appears on your desktop. Inside that folder there should be another folder called "apps". Inside that is another folder called "mplayer_ce". Drag that folder to the apps folder on the root of your SD card, and launch the app through the homebrew channel. From there, I believe you can access movies/media from your storage device. If you need more help, or don't understand, just ask!! :D
June 30, 2009 03:23AM
You don't need DVDx to read a hard drive, but you might need the USB 2.0 cIOS.
June 30, 2009 03:29AM
Thanks for that, but, "preferred method" what do you mean by that.... where do I find the hackmii installer? Is this installer in the Twilight Hack & Bannerbomb? And where are these and which one is better? Understand most of the rest you wrote except for the Homebrew Channel, does that just appear once the other stuff is loaded? God I sound blonde!
Thanks.