Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie question about SD cards

Posted by rmasters21 
Newbie question about SD cards
March 24, 2010 04:02PM
Hi guys,

I am a newbie here and have been reading a ton of post from the site and the links too.

I have a few questions that I hope you can help me with and sorry that they are so dumb...

Just got a Wii yesterday and plan to run HackMii tonight on it to install BootMii and Homebrew Channel. My question is this. Once I have things installed do you have to keep the SD card in the Wii all the time or does it write everything to internal memory and you can boot without it once installed? I have read that its best to back up the NAND and that seems to be pretty large so was thinking that maybe it was best to have a dedicated SD card just for this so it can be kept safe in case its needed in the future.

Also was wondering how many SD cards the typical user has (assuming you can swap them in and out as needed) I remmember the old days when most had a stack of memory cards (but thats when they were pretty small in size too) Basicaly I am trying to figure out how many and what size card(s) I will need to buy. And its not clear if you have to keep a card installed all the time or not from what I have read here.

I have seen that you need to create an apps folder to store things downloaded off Homebrew but was not sure if you did that on the same SD card or if it was another one.

Thanks for your help with this.
Re: Newbie question about SD cards
March 24, 2010 04:29PM
1.) You will be able to access the HBC without an SD card, but you won't be able to launch any apps. Also, since I'm assuming that you got a new wii, you won't be able to install bootmii as boot2. You can still install it as an IOS, though.

2.) I just use one SD card. Its 2GB. Unless you're planning on having lots of emulators or a large media center setup up (music, movies, etc.), I would suggest to just get a 2 or 4 gig SD card.