Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

can i upgrade hacked wii with menu 3.3 to newer?

Posted by msugarpants 
can i upgrade hacked wii with menu 3.3 to newer?
May 02, 2010 09:03AM
Why would I want to do this? Well, as a newbie, i updated something...dont know what, but it was a wii homebrew site that swore I needed this. So, i think I installed it on an SD card and HBC along with some other stuff completely stopped working. I was still able to play NTSC games, but not PAL...and the HBC just showed bubbles.....no other response. So, that was months ago. Now, I just want to start all over with Bannerbomb instead of Twilight Princess. So, can I update my semi-bricked wii to a new menu? How do I do that while staying away from 4.2?

Sorry if this was the wrong forum. I am new to this....as a 6th grade student of mine helped me set this up last year. So, its all pretty new....yet I know this is a brick issue and it has its own forum. Can I repost there, or will I be glued to a pentagram for doing that? ;)

thanks
Re: can i upgrade hacked wii with menu 3.3 to newer?
May 02, 2010 01:29PM
I'm fairly sure this is NOT a brick issue. Your Wii functions perfectly fine, its not bricked. Hence not a brick issue.

Now we NEED to know what it is you installed under direction of the other forum. Was it cIOS? Many forums tell you that you need this for homebrew purposes (a load of crap btw).

About HBC showing only bubbles: Do you have a compatible FAT32-formatted SD card inserted with and "apps" folder on the root and apps inside? If not, thats why it only shows bubbles.

About only playing NTSC games - I assume your Wii IS NTSC, so this is the normal behaviour. Did it at one point play PAL games? Perhaps you had a patched System Menu or something...

If you can try and answer these questions, we should be able to help you.