Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Best way to update?

Posted by Dere 
Best way to update?
October 09, 2010 05:38PM
Hi, I'm new to the homebrew scene. I have a Wii with system menu 3.3U and I never installed any homebrew in it. I would like to update it to be able to play newer games, but I also would like to install the HBC and Priiloader (as I want to have some brick prevention but unfortunately I can't install Bootmii as Boot 2) and be able to run homebrew, manually install WADs and play backups from DVDs and region-locked games.

My question is: What's the best way of updating in my case? If I just let it update to 4.3 through wi-fi, will I be able to install all the stuff I want later (I own a original Brawl copy, so I guess I have access to Smash Stack)? Or should I install some of them before the update (if so, please specify which one(s))? Or should I manually install the IOSes and new system menu? Would I gain any advantage in updating it to an earlier system menu than 4.3 instead (like, for example, 4.1)?

Thank you.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/09/2010 05:43PM by Dere.
Re: Best way to update?
October 09, 2010 06:15PM
I would advise performing a full WiFi update FIRST, then using Smash Stack to install HBC. You may not be able to install Priiloader immediately, as currently the installer requires a patched IOS, and its against the rules for us to tell you how to get one of those. However, provided a small bug in HBC (which doesn't affect too much else, so don't worry about it) is fixed soon (which hopefully it should be), there will be a new installer which doesn't need a patched IOS. There is also no point installing Priiloader before an update, as an update would wipe it out anyway.