Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Wiibrew Wiki HackMii Blog

Advanced

Installed BootMii as IOS instead of boot2

Posted by werty22 
Installed BootMii as IOS instead of boot2
November 09, 2011 06:02PM
Hi
I followed the Wii Homebrew Channel Installation Guide, but i think I made a mistake. I used the letterbomb hack to install the HBC, but then I installed BootMii as IOS, although I remember it said BootMii could be installed (the green 'can be installed' thing).
My Wii still works fine, and I can access the HBC; and I know I'm just a noob in all of this but I read averywhere that having BootMii as boot2 is a very good idea for safety, and I'd like to know if i can still install it? Is it worth it? Did I do something really wrong? Should I just sell my Wii for spare parts?
Whatever it is, now I'm reading everything thrice before doing anything, hah
Re: Installed BootMii as IOS instead of boot2
November 09, 2011 06:41PM
November 09, 2011 07:51PM
Thank you, it worked! I now have BootMii as boot2 and already made a NAND backup.
Also thanks for the explanation, it feels good to understand some of the things I'm doing not just pushing buttons and levers.
November 09, 2011 07:57PM
Yeah, I always find it best to fully understand what you're doing, it's safer that way. (e.g. won't accidentally brick your wii messing with something dangerous)
November 23, 2011 01:29PM
On the same subject...I installed HBC via the letterbomb method (i am running 4.3e), but Bootmii can only be loaded as IOS, not as boot 2. Am i right in thinking i have no brick protection in place at the minute? I just tried to load Bootmii again using the method explained above, and boot 2 option is not available, only as IOS. I don't want to proceed with other apps and things until i get myself protected! I hope you can help :S
November 23, 2011 06:02PM
November 23, 2011 08:35PM