Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Installed BootMii as IOS instead of boot2

Posted by werty22 
Installed BootMii as IOS instead of boot2
November 09, 2011 07:02PM
Hi
I followed the Wii Homebrew Channel Installation Guide, but i think I made a mistake. I used the letterbomb hack to install the HBC, but then I installed BootMii as IOS, although I remember it said BootMii could be installed (the green 'can be installed' thing).
My Wii still works fine, and I can access the HBC; and I know I'm just a noob in all of this but I read averywhere that having BootMii as boot2 is a very good idea for safety, and I'd like to know if i can still install it? Is it worth it? Did I do something really wrong? Should I just sell my Wii for spare parts?
Whatever it is, now I'm reading everything thrice before doing anything, hah
Re: Installed BootMii as IOS instead of boot2
November 09, 2011 07:41PM
haha, you don't need to sell your Wii just yet :P

You can very easily run the HackMii Installer again. Download it from here: [bootmii.org] and then on your SD card, inside the folder "apps" (if there isn't one, make one) make a folder called "hackmii_installer" and then place "boot.elf" from the HackMii Installer download inside that folder (i.e. full path = "apps\hackmii_installer\boot.elf"). Then load HBC and you should see a listing like this: "\apps\hackmii_installer\boot.elf" (probably some will be cut off the end, but you should get the idea). Load that and you'll be back in the HackMii Installer and able to install BootMii/boot2, provided your Wii is capable (if it was before, it still will be, but there's always a chance you misread or something - should be possible though).