Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

More PC Ports?

Posted by Yoghurt 
More PC Ports?
June 30, 2009 04:35PM
Hey, i thought that, Quake and Quake 2 are running on wii, how bout more PC Ports?
Like MDK, Turok1+2, Warcraft 1+2, Starcraft, Diablo, Forsaken, KKND...
All those games should run on Wii :)

im no coder, cant code, but im always open for some MDK (maybe add texture filtering?) or turok 2...
Re: More PC Ports?
June 30, 2009 06:51PM
LOL. Every game you want ported isn't open source. In other words, that makes them impossible to port.
June 30, 2009 07:03PM
Yoghurt
Hey, i thought that, Quake and Quake 2 are running on wii, how bout more PC Ports?

Like MDK, Turok1+2, Warcraft 1+2, Starcraft, Diablo, Forsaken, KKND...
All those games should run on Wii :)

Unlike Quake 1 and 2, the other games you emtion are not open source.
So you can't port them, only try a remake.
July 03, 2009 10:30AM
i see the problem. but isnt it possible to just emulate them and adapt the controls?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/03/2009 10:31AM by Yoghurt.
July 04, 2009 04:45PM
seeing as the games are designed to run on windows you'd have to emulate/port windows to run them... which isn't really possible
July 20, 2009 12:50PM
shawabawa
seeing as the games are designed to run on windows you'd have to emulate/port windows to run them... which isn't really possible

In fact, it might be possible. There's wine out there. And darwine for the ppc macs. Another thing is if the HUGE amount of work it would take would be worth the pain, as i suspect that even if wine got somewhat ported to wii, game performance would be very, very poor.

So it could be possible, but not realistic.
July 20, 2009 06:16PM
Nope because Wine Is Not an Emulator. Just porting Wine wouldn't be enough. You could run it on Linux, but I doubt it would be usable.
July 22, 2009 05:50AM