Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

An idea. How about a Mobile game player (as in mobile phone games)

Posted by nightwishfan1 
An idea. How about a Mobile game player (as in mobile phone games)
October 14, 2009 06:40AM
An idea popped into my head about how a mobile game emulator would be neat. Mobile as in mobile phones. Anyways I've seen some rather interesting games on the mobile phone services. Some games being brand new extensions of existing franchises, but yet only seen on Mobile phones, and devices, and nowhere else. An example of this would be the Onechanbara Mobile game for download on japanese mobile phone services. Some games are just new never heard of games that link to no franchise we know on home consoles that are one time deals and never seen anywhere else again. So now everyone has an idea of what I'm talking about now.

Of course I have no coding experience whatsoever and I dont know if any emulators for mobile games are available, though I'm sure there are. Anyways it's just an idea. I think it would be easy aside from possible java porting, but definitely possible.
Re: An idea. How about a Mobile game player (as in mobile phone games)
October 15, 2009 05:49AM
you mean an app that can run .jar files?
October 15, 2009 07:11AM
^^^Exactly. Even as .jad files as well since Mobile phone games use those to run also. Though I also know there are emulators that do various things. Nokia for example had a free one which allowed you to download it to your pc from their site, then you could choose i guess a sort of trial version of the program to try on that before you purchased it on your phone. It could let you do games as well to an extent. Basically the emulator mimicked one of their phone models at the time and it was limited to what would be playable or useable on it.
October 15, 2009 04:14PM
I guess someone could try to port "phoneme" [phoneme.dev.java.net] (Java mobile implementation) but I've only seen it work on arm processors.