Homebrew from SD-Card
December 21, 2009 11:54AM
Hello,

First of all, I'm a newbie. However, can someone explain to me the following:

If we are able to modify the Wii such that we can install a Homebrew Channel
by the bannerbomb, why can't we use the bannerbomb to start the Homebrew
Channel directly?

I know, there are some IOS which we have to replace, but can't these be done
temporarily -e.g., hacking the running code for file access - such that after a reboot
my wii is a virgin again.

- Fire22
Re: Homebrew from SD-Card
December 21, 2009 12:18PM
you dont need to overwrite ANY ios to use homebrew. the only reason to mess with any IOS it to add to it abilities that it wasnt created with. the biggest reasons people hack up IOSes is to restore the trucha bug and from there play games they didnt pay for. you can use bannerbomb to install the homebrew channel and from there play all the homebrew games fine with whatever stock IOS you are using.
December 21, 2009 02:18PM
you can use bannerbomb to run LoadMii instead of the HackMii Installer, and run any homebrew you want from there without leaving any trace on the wii of what has been done. you do not need to modify IOS for anything other than a)piracy or b)system mods, such as custom channels, themes, deleting/dumping files, system menu patches etc. The former is unsupported here, and the later does not apply to your situation, because you don't want to modify the system at all. Therefore, this is a perfectly viable solution.
December 22, 2009 03:41PM
Thanks for the quick answers. What is the difference between LoadMii and HackMii? Hope the question isn't too stupid, but am I right:

Note that I have a black Wii, i.e., I probable have a drive that can not read copies of DVDs.
After starting homebrew without changes on NAND of the Wii, I can than use as apps DVDx to watch original movie DVDs?
If not, what must I do? I would like to avoid buying a separate DVD player.

- Fire22
December 22, 2009 03:57PM