Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Counter Strike on WII

Posted by kckan 
Counter Strike on WII
June 07, 2010 06:20AM
can anyone please try to port this. or at least counter strike 2d. they did this for the psp and it was great and i would assume it would be easier to port it on the wii than the psp. right? i have no c++ experience so i cant really do it... anyone else really want this? i think this would be a great game if someone used the wiimote and the sensor bar to add a cursor like in the pc version of cs2d. i think this could have potential if anyone is willing to try it.
Re: Counter Strike on WII
June 07, 2010 10:02AM
No source code, no port. Sorry. Counter strike 2d looks like it would be possible, I think the source code is available somewhere...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/07/2010 10:04AM by WaxyPumpkin72.
June 07, 2010 11:06PM
It looks to me like the PSP version of Counter Strike is either a port of an engine which runs the Counter Strike files or they're using a port of DOSBox (which we already have on the Wii) to emulate it. Unfortunately, it seems that any information regarding it is hard to find and I really don't have the time to look into it any more than this.
June 08, 2010 08:21AM
[cs2d.ath.cx]

in german...annoying
June 08, 2010 08:32AM
could we run it as a quake pak somehow??
June 08, 2010 09:50PM
kckan
could we run it as a quake pak somehow??
Thats basically what I suggested in my previous post. If you can find an open source engine (preferably written in SDL) to play the files, it shouldn't be too much trouble to port and get Counter Strike working.
June 08, 2010 09:54PM
use half life engine

source code

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/08/2010 09:55PM by kckan.
June 09, 2010 12:20AM
kckan
use half life engine

source code

That looks like the SDK source to me (without downloading), not the actual source code. Not completely sure, but I don't think thats what is needed.