Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[REQ] Vectrex emulator???

Posted by oldskooler 
[REQ] Vectrex emulator???
March 06, 2011 02:05AM
I used to love the vectrex when I was younger and I'd like to know if it's possible to create/port an emulator to the wii?

I'm not a coder in any way so I really have no idea but just thought I'd ask for some feedback.

So is it possible, any ideas?
Thanks
Re: [REQ] Vectrex emulator???
April 23, 2011 05:47AM
With this many views I would've hoped that someone knew if it was possible or not....

I'd be willing to donate to have a functional vectrex emulator, if it can be done.

If anyone can help, I would appreciate it greatly.
April 23, 2011 10:04AM
I just ported one after reading your rage (joking)...

I'll release it when I map the wiimote buttons and write a way to browse ROMs.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/23/2011 10:07AM by Aruskano.
April 23, 2011 11:04AM
Aruskano
I just ported one after reading your rage (joking)...

I'll release it when I map the wiimote buttons and write a way to browse ROMs.

"rage"? He asked nicely. If you have nothing useful to contribute, don't post nonsense like this.

As for the actual emulator request: I have no idea if it's possible or not. I haven't heard of the "vectrex", but looking at the specs on Wikipedia, I'd say the Wii should be able to handle an emulator.

Wikipedia
Technical specifications
Circuit Board

CPU : Motorola 68A09 @ 1.5 MHz
RAM: 1 KB (two 4-bit 2114 chips)
ROM: 8 KB (one 8-bit 2363 chip)

The main CPU in the Wii (the PowerPC one, which runs actual games etc.) is clocked at 729MHz and it has 88MB RAM (i.e. roughly 88,000KB), so the specs of the Wii far out weigh that of the original console i.e. it should be possible to emulate it.