Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Use any controller with most Wii games?

Posted by umaggot 
Use any controller with most Wii games?
May 15, 2011 02:00AM
I was wondering if it was possible to make a hack that would enable the usage and configuration of any controller with any Wii game? (Such configurations would include mapping a nunchuck/wiimote shake to a button, and mapping the pointer to either the left or right joystick on a classic controller -- or even a gamecube controller.) Please let me know, thank you.
Re: Use any controller with most Wii games?
May 15, 2011 02:36AM
You could do it via a special loader, like what Gecko OS does and insert a hook to the re-map code. Of course it's not quite that easy.
May 15, 2011 03:09AM
How would I get started with something like that? I have Gecko 1.9.3, but I don't understand hooking. Are there any beginner's resources? I have some prior experience with 6502 ASM, would that help?
May 15, 2011 04:02AM
umaggot
How would I get started with something like that? I have Gecko 1.9.3, but I don't understand hooking. Are there any beginner's resources? I have some prior experience with 6502 ASM, would that help?

Take a look at the Gecko OS source. If I remember correctly it injects a jump in the video flipper that calls the cheat code then returns. I've not done this on Wii but the general term used for this is code injection.

Yes experience with asm will help but when you inject a hook it's actually the byte code you are writing to memory. I have no skill with PPC ASM so can't help you with that.

Once you've figured this out you still need to re-map the controls and know which controller mem/registers to change. Again here you'd have to look a the memory map (http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wiimote#Control_Registers) and see how to access the controller.
May 15, 2011 10:27AM