Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is the algorithm located in IOS or in game DOL file

Posted by cgha 
Is the algorithm located in IOS or in game DOL file
August 28, 2009 05:08AM
Hector martin find out the algorithm of wiimote expansion port,but i don't know how he managed to do it.The community lacks some Getting started guide to guide newbies to join in.There is a new encryption algorithm if the Motionplus plugged into the wiimote expansion port,i think it reside in the game dvd like Wii sport resort or Tiger wood.So should i extract these game to get DOL file and load it into IDAPRO,then debug it to figure out it?Many thanks!

Chris

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 08/31/2009 03:04AM by cgha.
Re: Is the algorithm located in IOS or in game WOL file
August 28, 2009 01:37PM
1. Its DOL file, not a WOL file
2. Its IDA Pro, not EDA Pro
3. If you dont know that stuff, and you describe yourself as a newbie, I think you have a bit to learn before you're disassembling DOL files and working out encryption algorithms. No offfence.
Re: Is the algorithm located in IOS or in game DOL file
September 02, 2009 11:47AM
Thanks SjfJar,Now i can run my helloworld on wii,but the point is i do not know where the algorithm may reside in,the Dol file of disc or In a new IOS,what's the process if i want to hack it out. Thanks again.

chris
September 02, 2009 06:05PM
I'd guess it'd probably be in the IOS, but I really have no idea what you're talking about, so I'd say wait for someone else to tell you. And BTW, IDA Pro costs several hundred pounds for the full version (which is needed for disassembling Wii stuff).
September 03, 2009 06:02AM
Oh,sorry for my bad explanation,the story is like this: