Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What's the diff. Between gecko and ocarina?

Posted by Jigsb007 
What's the diff. Between gecko and ocarina?
March 07, 2012 10:39PM
Experts,
I am new to homebrew stuff. I have install home brew on my wii and using backup games thru externall HDD. Everything works good. Now I am trying to install cheat codes for my games and got confused between gecko and ocarina .

My question is , do I need both in order to use cheat codes? One of the YouTube video I found was showing how to turn ocarina for the game. Just turn it ON and download cheat codes directly to your SD card and that's it. You are done , now you can use those cheats with game

Now, in this case, do I have to load gecko os to my wii and down load cheat codes as .txt file and then convert it using code manager on the computer and then save it to my codes folder onSD.

Are these 2 different methods? Do I need any one of it? Or what ever I am doing to get cheat codes is right?

Please help me to understand. If that's the case then why do we need gecko? Which one is better?

Thanks
Re: What's the diff. Between gecko and ocarina?
March 07, 2012 11:07PM
Ocarina was before Gecko OS supported cheats, the cheats in Gecko OS are just the Ocarina cheat engine integrated into Gecko OS. In other words, use Gecko OS. You'd have to go through all the exact same steps to get cheats working with Ocarina.
March 07, 2012 11:51PM
Thanks for your reply.
But I found ocarina more user friendly , as u don't have to do any steps with computer . Simply select the game and ocarina will download cheats and creat the file in sd card automatically. Right?
March 08, 2012 12:09AM
No. Like I said, the steps are the exact same.