Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Insight

Posted by arasium 
Insight
May 20, 2009 09:45AM
Hi everybody,

I've a question about tha capabilities of insight. I currently used a patch of libogc to allow debugging using Wifi instead of SDgecko. I've succesfully connected to my homebrew but i can' t add watchers to my variables.

So, my question is how can I add a watch to a variable?

For information, i use the .elf to load the source code into insight (i don't use the download option when i enable the remote connection) but I run the .dol on the HBC (using Wiiload).
Re: Insight
May 20, 2009 05:48PM
Insight never worked for me either... for anything... for any platform. Besides, I'm a windows programmer so I'm used to the msvc debugging interface.

When I toyed with psp homebrew, I used the debugging interface in eclipse which would connect to the gdb server running on the psp. You could do the same with wii debugging. Nowadays, I just use command line gdb to poke variables.

actually, if you want to learn how to use eclipse ... follow this: [forums.ps2dev.org]

Now this is for the psp, but when you install eclipse, the CDT, and the debugger all you have to do is just tell eclipse that you're using powerpc-gekko-gdb instead of gdb, and your wii's ip address:8000 (or whatever your port selection is)

Hope that helps, any questions? ask away

oh, and I'm not preaching eclipse. I don't even use it anymore. I just think insight blows.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/20/2009 05:57PM by MrPeanut.
May 20, 2009 09:03PM
Okay,

i will try Eclipse! If i succeed, i will put my results here!
I will also have a look msvc!

thank you
May 21, 2009 03:31AM
Well I use msvc to write my code, not debug it. You can't use msvc to debug your code since you can't select a debugger in it. Sorry if I confused you.
May 21, 2009 11:27AM
No, i've edited my post when i've realized that msvc = Visual Studio! But my edition hasn't been recorded :)