Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What kind of courses to take to learn more about reverse engineering/enabling homebrew

Posted by iofthestorm 
Hi guys,
I'm a freshman in college right now, going to the best university in the world (UC Berkeley ;)) and majoring in EECS. I was just curious about what kind of courses I would want to take if I wanted to be able to do the kinds of things you guys do with hacking and reverse engineering the Wii and other future consoles, or other devices in general. I'm probably going to have an emphasis on the EE side of things, but I haven't committed to either right now (at Berkeley EECS is one major, not two). Obviously homebrew/reverse engineering isn't going to be the focus of my college education, but I wanted to do this kind of thing as a hobby/side thing when I have a job. Next semester I'm taking a class on machine structures: [www.eecs.berkeley.edu]

I'm guessing this might help a bit with that sort of thing. Currently I program a lot, but mostly in Java, which isn't very useful for homebrew on the Wii. I tried learning assembly in middle school for my TI-83 but was frustrated rather quickly.
Re: What kind of courses to take to learn more about reverse engineering/enabling homebrew
October 19, 2008 02:26PM
To be perfectly honest, I'm in still in highschool. Everything I learned came books and the internet.

EDIT: I can reccomend some if you woyld like me to.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/19/2008 02:26PM by Arikado.
I recommend looking for some books on CPU architecture. I'm not sure of any specific titles, but some topics to cover would be-

1. CPU Registers -- [en.wikipedia.org]
2. OpCodes -- [en.wikipedia.org]
3. Stacks -- [en.wikipedia.org])
4. IRQ (Interrupt Requests) -- [en.wikipedia.org]
5. Byte Endian -- [en.wikipedia.org]

Actually, I've found this, it's a tutorial for PIC microprocessors, shows a bit of how the hardware relates to the software to.
[www.mstracey.btinternet.co.uk]