Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extracting savegames without trucha

Posted by marc_max 
Extracting savegames without trucha
August 19, 2010 12:40AM
Hi,
I'm developing the final version of BrawlStats (http://wiibrew.org/wiki/BrawlStats) and I have a question.
My application needs a cIOS or trucha bug in order to read Super Smash Bros. Brawl save data. I have no problem on that, but I'm aware that other users don't want to install a cIOS or to patch an IOS.
I was wondering if there is any way to read the save data without having to use a cIOS or trucha.

I tried with ES_SetUID(0x1000052534250ULL); before initializing NAND but it always returns -1017. (note: (0x0001000052534250 is the title id)
I also have been trying with ES_Identify but I'm a beginner when talking about permissions. I copied the code from another application that get certs from /sys/cert.sys, generates a ticket (I don't know if this is valid) and gets title's TMD, all these commands (seems to) work perfectly, but ES_Identify fails again returning another -1017.

Anyone can tell me if this is possible? And if it's possible, what's the best and clean way to achieve it?
BrawlStats only reads savedata from NAND, it doesn't modify anything so I only need read rights.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/19/2010 12:41AM by marc_max.
Re: Extracting savegames without trucha
August 19, 2010 04:15AM
I'm working on this too - Right now I'm trying settings the irqs to zero (essentially killing IOS) and using powerpc to access the NAND filesystem. Although, I really haven't put much time into yet...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/19/2010 04:15AM by Arikado.
August 20, 2010 05:54PM
Then it's harder than I thought.

If you get some results, please post them here, I'm very interested :)
August 21, 2010 12:16AM