Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Applying AHBPROT to Banana Saves

Posted by marc_max 
Applying AHBPROT to Banana Saves
January 24, 2011 11:38PM
I'm trying to get Banana Saves working without a cIOS using AHBPROT. Banana Patcher was only a simple modification of another application. However, I'm a noob when it comes to using the SU identification Wii methods, TMDs, etc, so this can be a good way to learn how it really works.

You can get the original code in the Banana Saves page at Wiibrew.
I only modified the main to ignore the IOS Reload and to apply AHBPROT patches (either running from wiiload or from SD with the patches are applied correctly). I got the famous iospatch.c file from ftpii. AHBPROT seems to work perfectly (I tested it and I can mount ISFS, read files, etc).

Then the problem comes here in Sysmenu_Identify at sysmenu.c:
/* Retrieve TMD */
ret = ES_GetStoredTMD(SYSMENU_TITLEID, p_tmd, tmd_len);
if (ret < 0)
	goto out;

/* Identify as system menu */
ret = ES_Identify(p_certs, certs_len, p_tmd, tmd_len, p_tik, tik_len, NULL);
ES_Identify returns -1017.

I guess that identifying with a different TMD is breaking AHBPROT somehow (maybe I'm wrong?).

So I tried to comment the ES_Identify. Then when trying to load the System Menu executable into memory before applying the copy protected savegames patch, it fails at:
ret = ((tmd *)SIGNATURE_PAYLOAD(p_tmd))->boot_index;
It doesn't get the System Menu executable index correctly (and later it's unable to load the executable into memory due to an incorrect index).

I guess that using AHBPROT will make Banana Saves less complex, but as I don't understand all identification functions it's hard for me. Anyone can help me?

Sorry if I can't explain it better, but english isn't my main language.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/24/2011 11:47PM by marc_max.
Re: Applying AHBPROT to Banana Saves
January 25, 2011 01:50AM
why are you trying to identify as the super user?