Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

BootMii as boot2 on new Wii's

Posted by bg4545 
Re: BootMii as boot2 on new Wii's
January 21, 2010 03:34AM
Basically, that number is an upper bound. The first key tried might actually be it, but the last key is just as likely to be.

If you could find a way to guesstimate, based on the public key, what the private key is likely to be in the range of, things would speed up.
January 21, 2010 03:35AM
I am new to hacking the Wii so this is probably a dumb question but I would like to know the answer anyways.

Is the private key that unlocks boot2 unique to each Wii, or if you successfully bruteforced one Wii would you be able to unlock boot2 on all Wii's?

elmoreas
January 21, 2010 03:40AM
Yes. If you found the private key, you could have bootmii boot2 on all wiis. It is not unique to each wii.
January 21, 2010 04:01AM
If we found that private key, we could sign anything. Channels, saves, the like. We could do anything that Nintendo could.
January 21, 2010 05:46PM
WikiFSX
If we found that private key, we could sign anything. Channels, saves, the like. We could do anything that Nintendo could.

Meaning that provided we can run code somehow (you'd still need an exploit for this) we could do anything, install anything, modify anything. Basically, it would be the single greatest achievement of Wii hacking. But it is incredibly unlikely.
January 22, 2010 01:41PM
Just a thought (which doesn't probably work because it's so obvious, so someone must have thought about and done it already if it would work, but I have to mention it anyway because ***if*** it will work and I just sit and hold the information for myself that would be just horrible):

If I understand things correctly the fakesigning bug works as follows: