Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Check my Wii hack plan out for newb mistakes plz?

Posted by elstado 
Check my Wii hack plan out for newb mistakes plz?
August 04, 2009 09:52AM
Hi all,

Another HBC/WiiBrew noob here. :)

I have been reading up on homebrew and softmodding my Wii for a couple of months, but up until only recently I had no luck (previously tried the Twilight Hack a while back but it wouldn't load properly so I gave up for a while).

I am currently using a Wii with the following specs:
-Firmware 3.4e.
-S/N LAH11 (I heard that this S/N can be problematic when "downgrading" cIOS or something- Comments?).

Using the following hardware/peripherals:
-2x Official Wiimotes.
-1x 2GB Sandisk SD card.
-NO Gamecube controller or other accessories.

I have recently installed:
-Home Brew Channel (+HB Browser etc within it, stored on the SD card atm).
-DVDx only.

What I want to get out of my Wii:
-Full HBC functionality (I wouldn't have half a clue of the cool stuff that HBC offers, give me some suggestions!).
-Upgrade my Wii firmware to the latest (4.1?). (Is this worth it? I heard that it gives extra functions, SDHC support etc, and there are no technical/brick reasons to not install it- Comments?)
-Make it as brick-proof and recoverable as possible (I have a newer Wii that only allows BootMii as an IOS... what else can I do- Comments?).
-Backup my games onto an 3.5" 40GB external HDD (Maxtor OneTouch III caddy with Seagate 7200.9 HDD).

NOTE: I am not interested in cheating apps, playing priated games, other region games etc. I am not sure if discussion of making backups of games I already own as a hardcopy is permitted or not, as it is apparently legal to do so in Australia as long as I own a copy of the original. If it is not permitted please disregard this and mods feel free to edit my post. I don't want to be banned.