Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Video rendering question for developers of GX emulators

Posted by TheManuel 
Video rendering question for developers of GX emulators
December 04, 2008 06:22PM
I'm just getting started with emulators in the Homebrew Channel and I am facing the same conundrum as with console emulators for the PC in my home arcade machine.

Both the NES and SNES use a video resolution of 256 x 224 (for most games anyway). I run my arcade machine at 640x480 for output to a TV through YPbPr video. Since the Wii outputs at 480p the games in NES and SNES emulators for the Wii I assume are set to a resolution of 720x480.
I understand that since 224 is not a whole-number multiple of 480, you cannot simply double the resolution and call it a day but rather you have to scale the video to fit in the vertical 480 lines the Wii outputs.

The GX emulators offer two alternatives, filtered and unfiltered but both have their problems:
- Unfiltered: the image is scaled by adding odd pixels here and there which keeps the image sharp but really alters the output video. You can see and example of this by loading Super Castlevania IV for the SNES. Look at the life bar, which is two rows of rectangular boxes and you will see some boxes are wider than the others when they're supposed to be of equal size. You can also notice this on in-game text in many games. Look, for instance, at the letter "M" and you'll notice one leg wider than the other.
- Filtered: here everything looks with correct proportions but the image looks blurry. As much as you play with sharpness controls, the blurriness just stares back at you mockingly and you almost have to strain your eyes.