Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Temporarily change region?

Posted by Mikegrann 
Temporarily change region?
June 06, 2010 06:35PM
I'm relatively new to this more advanced side of wii homebrew. I've been doing simple things so far and I have the homebrew channel installed with Gecko OS for loading games (if that matters). Try to keep my lack of experience in mind when answering, please.

Now to the point. I have a friend online from a different region; I'm in NTSC and he's in PAL. I want to play region-locked Monster Hunter Tri with him online. I'm relatively certain this is possible if I can load a PAL game somehow. However, my game is NTSC, and I'd rather not change it permanently. I was wondering if there was any way to use homebrew apps to change the region it is loaded as. I know there is region free loading, which is what I do with GeckoOS, but that still restricts me to NTSC servers as far as I can tell.

I'd also like it to be within the constraints of this forum, please. I'm not looking to burn an illegal version of the game in PAL, just to load my current game in PAL servers. I'm aware there may be no way to do this within these constraints, but I'm new to this and hours of research have led to no definite answer. I'd like a "yes, it can be done and this is how" or a "no, it's impossible."

My other idea is using AnyRegion Changer or something similar to change my wii region, then load the game in Gecko OS as region free, which should give the requested result(?). However, I generally avoid making NAND changes, especially as this one says it is permanent. I have NTSC friends and games too, and want my wii as NTSC most of the time unless I choose to change to PAL to play with someone.

Any help would be appreciated. I'd just like a definitive answer so I know if this is even possible. Thanks so much for your help!
Re: Temporarily change region?
June 06, 2010 08:10PM