Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Virgin 3.3U Console - How to Start, Should I Update?

Posted by skwii 
Virgin 3.3U Console - How to Start, Should I Update?
October 10, 2009 04:58PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to the scene - I've got a console that shows it's at Ver. 3.3U. I've never attempted to do anything to it yet, so it's a "fresh" box. How should I start? I know most folks say don't update to the current 4.2, but it looks like 3.3U is fairly old and some things might not work without a more current update.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Re: Virgin 3.3U Console - How to Start, Should I Update?
October 10, 2009 05:07PM
Here's my advice.

1. Use an exploit (if you have the games, go for either Twilight Hack or Indiana Pwns, if not use bannerbomb) with HackMii Installer to install HBC, DVDx and BootMii as boot2 if possible (should be possible on your wii)
2. Make a NAND dump with BootMii (restart wii, bootmii will appear. You must navigate with GC controller or front buttons on wii, not wiimote)
3. Run dop-IOS MODv7 and use it to update/install ALL IOS (apply sig check hash and ES_Identify patches to IOS36, no patches to other IOS), then, still using dop-IOS MOD, select to install the 4.1 System Menu for your region, and finally use dop-IOS MOD to update ALL channels.

You will now be running a fully updated System Menu 4.1 wii with HBC, DVDx and BootMii as boot2, and a trucha bugged IOS36. This is the best condition for your Wii to be in. There are no benefits to 4.2 over 4.1, and therefore there is no need to upgrade. 4.2 is same feature-wise as 4.1, just with a few homebrew blocks in place.

The final thing you should install is the MPlayer CE cIOS. This is a cIOS which isnt used for piracy, but most cIOS are. Dont use another cIOS. Run the MPlayer CE cIOS installer (also know as USB2.0cIOS) and select to use IOS36 for installation. Then you can play DVDs and use USB2.0 devices in MPlayer CE (the best media player available for Wii).