Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Few questions, unsure

Posted by MrDiesel 
Few questions, unsure
January 05, 2010 07:01PM
Hi all,

I'm kinda new to Wii (soft)modding. I've read alot already, but I'm still unsure as I just bought a black Wii for Christmas and I'm afraid for bricking it. I don't want my little brother to be disappointed.

Ok, is there any brick chance in the following procedure except from power loss. Is it in the right order?

- Using Bannerbomb to install the Homebrew Channel & BootMii (as IOS)
- Backup my NAND with BootMii
- Using Trucha Bug Restorer to: <== Any risk by using this?
-- Downgrade IOS15
-- Install patched IOS36 under IOS15 with all patches to YES.
-- Restore IOS15
- Install cIOS249

A black Wii is no difference to a (new) white Wii, right? (Except for the color :P)
Any tips?

Sorry for wasting your time, but as I said, I'm pretty unsure and just want verification.

Thanks in advance

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 01/05/2010 07:06PM by MrDiesel.
Re: Few questions, unsure
January 05, 2010 07:09PM
MrDiesel
- Install cIOS249
This is the only dangerous part. The software is already pretty flaky to begin with. I can't predict how it will react with one of black Wii's which have newer hardware. I've never heard of it being done on a black Wii to be honest.

If you simply want an IOS that can accept fakesigning, there are far better routes to take.
January 05, 2010 07:27PM
First of all, thanks for your quick response :)

cIOS249 is needed in order to access hard drives, right? Is talking about this supported here? I've read about USB loaders not being supported here.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/05/2010 07:28PM by MrDiesel.
January 05, 2010 07:29PM
No, USB loaders are not supported here because they are both dangerous to install, dangerous to use, and enable piracy.
January 05, 2010 07:43PM