Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

just got the wii

Posted by gaiginbob 
just got the wii
January 06, 2010 06:27AM
downloaded the hbc but seems to stop before I get the main screen. Only get bubbles.
What should I do I have a japanese wii 4.2
I am new to this system any ideas please.
can anyone give me step by step instruction to make it work thanks.
Re: just got the wii
January 06, 2010 06:41AM
You need to put apps on your HBC. There's a list here. Make a folder called apps on the root of the SD card and put the apps that you download inside that folder.
January 06, 2010 03:27PM
hey thanks for the reply.
I did what you said but nothing happened.
getting message saying network not initialized.
made a flie with apps put homebrew browser in it and a game. then put it in the wii went through the proccess of setting up
after just got bubbles I could pop.
In my sd card I checked the files and found 2 new files in the Title folder
loc.bak
loc.dat
have no idea what this is..............
what do you suggest///
January 06, 2010 06:44PM
Make sure your SD card is set up like this:

Root/apps/homebrew_browser/boot.dol
January 07, 2010 01:31PM
this is getting to be harder than i thought.
set up the files as per order root/appa/ etc. No luck
I have a japanese wii 4.2 does not read wii us games.
have wifi connection internet ok on the wii.
got the private file/ root file/ and elf file all on sd card 2.0GB bought it from electronic store.
anything missing?
I downloaded the hbc/dvd from the software on the wii.
did not download the bootmii is that ok?

What should I try next?
January 07, 2010 01:49PM
Root is not a folder.
The apps folder should not be in a folder, it should be visible when you are not in any other folder besides your SD card. That is the "root".
January 07, 2010 07:06PM
1. Clear your SD card completely and make it blank.

2. In the blank area create the apps folder.