Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pros and Cons to updating to 4.3 if hbc is already installed?

Posted by GrendelKhan 
Pros and Cons to updating to 4.3 if hbc is already installed?
September 13, 2010 09:43PM
I am relatively new to the scene and I've been doing a lot of reading, but it seems like there are conflicting viewpoints on whether or not to update to 4.3. I have a 4.2U Wii with hbc 1.0.8 installed. I have a retail disc copy of Other M I want to play, but it is telling me I need to update. I tried doing the IOS56 recent version update via NUSD + WadImport, as mentioned in the "Regarding the recent Wii update" post, but the disc channel still wants me to update. Was that method just for the Shop Channel and now I have to do some other IOS installs to get Other M to work?

I keep reading that there are zero benefits to updating to 4.3, but also that there is no harm in updating if you already have hbc installed, so I am confused. I'm pretty sure I would like to keep my wii at 4.2 for ethical reasons, but does that also entail using Gecko OS somehow to play games that require 4.3? My apologies if I am discussing anything inappropriate.
Re: Pros and Cons to updating to 4.3 if hbc is already installed?
September 13, 2010 10:07PM
There are no pros or cons to updating. And what on earth do you mean you want to stay on 4.2 for "ethical reasons"? You think its unethical to install 4.3? lol
September 13, 2010 10:25PM
Yes, I think it is unethical for Nintendo to require me to update my system to play a game that I have legally purchased. My wii is not connected to the internet right now, so I can't do a clean update to 4.3, even if I wanted to. All I wanted was an honest discussion of your opinion on whether or not I should update. I assume you think it's silly for me to want to keep my wii at 4.2?
September 13, 2010 10:31PM
Everything you are discussing is just fine :)