Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

newbie question about BootMii

Posted by Koohiisan 
newbie question about BootMii
December 19, 2009 12:10AM
This seemed like a more appropriate place to ask this than the general forum, but sorry if this is the wrong place... Also, nothing I am about to say--to my knowledge--is against any rules here, but if it is please tell me and I will kindly not ask again.

I read that BootMii can't be used on the newer systems due to the fact that Nintendo has the key that validates boot2 stored in boot1, which is written only at the factory and cannot be rewritten. So, any changes to boot2 would make its checksum (for lack of a better term on my part) no longer match that static key in boot1.

But...Nintendo updated boot2. Does that mean that they somehow wrote it in such a way that they could make it end up having the same checksum to match boot1? Or, am I way off in assuming that the static data in boot1 is a checksum at all? I'm a programmer on a number of other business systems, so I can understand some of this without much difficulty. But...if Nintendo could rewrite boot2 and make it work...then can't TT do it too?

I know, I know, if it was that easy why don't I just go help them out...but this actual thought process just struck me with regards to reading here about the boot2v4 update. I'm just curious if my logic is waaaaay off base or if I'm pretty close.

Again, sorry if this is dangerously controversial. I will gladly edit away this message if an admin directs me to do so! :)
Re: newbie question about BootMii
December 19, 2009 02:16AM
Koohiisan
But...if Nintendo could rewrite boot2 and make it work...then can't TT do it too?
They do. The boot2 update doesn't disable BootMii, it just removes it until BootMii is reinstalled.