Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I need talking points on whether or not this is possible.

Posted by marieresearch 
I need talking points on whether or not this is possible.
February 08, 2010 04:47PM
I am a public health researcher, so bear with me.

I work on a research project with Wii Fit. My team wants to get the participants’ data from Wii Fit. We only want to get the participant-specific data on Wii Fit—nothing else.

I suggested that we should just have the participants give us a copy for the game save data on an SD card and then examine it in house. Seems easiest to me.

Not being a programmer, I have no clue what is and isn’t possible. I need to tell them specifically why it isn’t possible.
Or, if it is possible, I need to tell them what is involved and why it would take too much time to do it. Or, that it would have serious privacy concerns for our review board.

Anyway…..so, let’s say we install the homebrew channel on all 400 Wiis.

1. Could an app be written for us to get the participant specific data of Wii Fit (time used, etc)?

2. If that is possible, wouldn’t the information just display on their Wii? How could even we access it remotely? Let’s assume most participants do not have internet connections.

3. How could we avoid looking at other “private” information? Could we even avoid looking at the data of other family members who use Wii Fit?

Thanks in advance--I really appreciate it. I just need some discussion points on this topic for my team.

Marie

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/11/2010 02:05AM by marieresearch.
Re: I need talking points on whether or not this is possible.
February 08, 2010 05:15PM