Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Array of Structures with Unique Structures?

Posted by LordAshes 
Array of Structures with Unique Structures?
March 07, 2010 05:10AM
I am writting my code in C. I am an intermediate C programmer so I am not sure if this is an easy task where I have overlooked something obvious or if this is more difficult that is sounds.

I am modifying previously written code so I am somewhat limited in what I can do. I will use a simplified example to illustrate what I am trying to accomplish.

Say I have one structure (Client) with infromation on clients:

First Name
Last Name
Account Number

The program defines an array of this structure so that many clients can be recorded.

Now I want to add additional information to this structure but this infromation will vary. Let say it can have one of three possible structures:

Additional structure type 1 (Contact_Phone):

Country
Area
Phone

Additional structure type 2 (Contact_Mail):

Street
City
Provine
Country

Additional structure type 3 (Contact_Email):

Address

So Ideally I want to keep the array of Clients (the first structure) otherwise I would have to change a tonne of code. However, I would like to add to this a generic pointer that will point to one of the 3 additional structures. However, since the type can be different for each member of the Client array, this pointer needs to be generic in the initial definition. Then when the client data is actually populated, an instance of one of the addition structures would be created, populated and then that particular client's pointer would be set to point to it.

So I have something like:

typedef struct
{
string First;
string Last;
int Account;
int *Contacts;
} client_type;

typedef struct
{
int Country;
int Area;
int Phone;
} contact_1;

typedef struct
{
string Street;
string City;
string Province;
string Country;
u32
} contact_2;

typedef struct
{
string Address;
} contact_3;