Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

getting FTP support to work on the wii.

Posted by DADDYD 
getting FTP support to work on the wii.
September 18, 2009 09:03AM
Im having a problem with the ftp support for mplayer ce.I edited the ftp config file with my ip address and put what file i wanted to share then i put the card back in wii opened up mplayer ce and went to ftp share 1 and i get nothing.My question is there something else im supposed to do that im not doing are my supposed to use ftp from cmd prompt.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/18/2009 09:05AM by DADDYD.
Re: getting FTP support to work on the wii.
September 18, 2009 09:08AM
I also would like to know how to do that, i have no experience with ftp
September 18, 2009 03:59PM
Stupid question, perhaps - but do you actually have an FTP server running on your PC (or where ever this IP address is pointing to)?
September 19, 2009 12:31AM
I believe so.
September 19, 2009 04:29AM
does it have to be a server or a client whats the difference between these two
will filezilla work?
September 19, 2009 01:48PM
It must be a server. A server hosts the files, and a client allows you to log in and transfer files to and from the server.
September 20, 2009 03:57AM
so is the mplayer ce a client or a server and i need the opposite on my pc?

offtopic: so on my phone i have a ftp client i need a server on my pc?
September 20, 2009 01:36PM
MPlayer CE is the client, because the media is stored on the computer. So you need to set up a server on the computer. TBH, I never knew MPlayer CE could use FTP.
September 20, 2009 09:35PM
So then you don"t use cmd prompt to open up ftp? how do you go about setting up a server on the pc.
September 21, 2009 05:39PM
Try the FileZilla FTP Server.

[filezilla-project.org]
September 21, 2009 10:17PM
DADDYD
So then you don"t use cmd prompt to open up ftp? how do you go about setting up a server on the pc.