Can't get UAE (Wii Amiga Emulator) to run,
August 11, 2013 09:55PM
Hi everyone. I'm new to homebrew. I installed UAE (an Amiga Emulator) through the Homebrew Browser, then I got Amiga Forever for the ROMs and games. I have tried several times to run it and have been unsuccessful every time. Every time I get the same error: that the kickstart rom can't be found.

I have tried the instructions for including the ROMS on the UAE Homebrew page, [wiibrew.org], and the readme file that came with UAE. I have also contacted tech support for the company that provided me with Amiga Forever (Avangate), but they have not gotten back to me.

I think the problem is file structure and /or placement of the ROMs, because:

X in the readme instructions I was told to "Copy everything from the "Amiga Files/System/rom/" directory on your Amiga Forever CD to /uae/roms/ on your SD card, but there is no Amiga Files/System/rom/" directory. There is a Amiga Files/Systems folder that has workbenches in it, and roms in Amiga Files\Shared\rom (I tried using it)

X in the readme instructions I was told to "Copy /uae/roms/amiga-os-130.rom to /uae/roms/kick.rom3", but there is no uae/roms/kick.rom3 file or folder.

X in the WiiBrew instructions, I was told to "Copy /Amiga Files/Shared/rom/amiga-os-130.rom to /uae/roms/kick.rom on your SD card", but there is no kick.rom file or folder

I noticed that the readme instructions said "Copy everything from the "Amiga Files/System/rom/" directory" but there wasn't Systems/rom folder. There was a Files/Systems with workbenches in it. I tried copying all these files and dumping them in /uae/roms/, I saw that the WiiBrew instructions said to "Copy everything from the "/Amiga Files/Shared/adf" directory on your Amiga Forever CD to /uae/roms/ on your SD card", so I tried that instead. I think that is at least partially right. I tried pasting the files in there, both inside the adf folder and without the adf folder