Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Getting started, languages, syntax?

Posted by DigitalMan 
Getting started, languages, syntax?
October 06, 2008 03:20AM
I am a fairly experienced programmer, but the Wii seems to be rather unique.

First off, I see a lot of questions here about C++ coding. However, the sample file that came with DevKitPro is a .c file, indicating plain C language. Is this just an incorrectly named source file, or do I have to go through some procedure to be able to work with C++?

Also, I notice a "->" showing up in some places, specifically "if(rmode->viTVMode&VI_NON_INTERLACE)". I know it's not a pointer, and I don't think it's a comparison - but, due to its nature, I can't do a web search on that syntax. Could anyone tell me exactly what it does?

And finally, what I really need is a reference for all the unique commands. Windows C++ and VB have MSDN, and Java/J2ME has a full reference on the Sun site, but this seems to have nothing. VIDEO_WaitVSync()? VIDEO_SetBlack(FALSE)? What do these do, when do I call them? Obviously I can't ask here for every single thing, so any location to find it all would be appreciated.

A basic getting started tutorial might be nice, too - like, a "Hello world" that doesn't require resetting the Wii after it's run. Just a basic intro on where to put loops, and how to interact with a controller to end the program and return to the menu.
Re: Getting started, languages, syntax?
October 06, 2008 04:57AM
1) Renaming the source file to .cpp is sufficient to get g++/dkP to compile C++ source. You can work with either C or C++.

2) rmode is indeed a pointer, and -> has no other use other than accessing fields/members from a pointer (besides the rare case of using operator overloading, anyway).

3) You've got existing homebrew examples/programs and the documentation to go on (that page is just generated from metadata in the headers).